Vegan Banana Strawberry bread

March 9, 2009 at 3:36 pm | Posted in Allergies, Baking, Vegan baking | 2 Comments

Oh my goodness, soooo yummmmy!

I took the Betty Crocker recipe I use to make banana bread, added strawberry’s and changed it to be vegan.

1 cup sugar

1/3 cup Crisco

3 tsp egg replacer

1 cup mashed ripe bananas

1/2 cup strawberry puree

1/3 cup water

1 2/3 cup flour

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 tsp baking powder

2 tsp vanilla (or as much as you prefer)

1 tsp apple cider vinager or white vinegar

Heat oven to 350.  Grease bottom of loaf pan.  Mix sugar and Crisco together in a medium bowl.  Stir in egg replacer.  Add fruit purees and water; mix until combined.  Siff in flour, baking soda, salt, and baking powder; mix until almost combined.  Add vanilla and vinegar (this would be the time to add nuts if you want; walnuts or pecans) at this point; mix until just combined.  Pour into pan.  Bake for 55-60 minutes.  Let cool.  I think it’s better completely cooled.

My previous attempts at vegan banana bread were way to dense.  I think this receipe is exactly like a receipe with eggs in it!

Picture to be added later. — Oops, I forgot to take a picture before it disappeared.  I guess I’ll have to make it again.

2 Comments

  1. Bring some to OC!

  2. So that’s whats in the foil in the fridge…

    I’ll have to grab some for breakfast tomorrow.


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

