Curried Pumpkin Soup

January 13, 2009 at 11:00 pm | Posted in Baking, Children, cooking, Vegan baking | Comments Off on Curried Pumpkin Soup

is delicous.  But why did I decide to make that along with making Mac and Cheese FROM SCRATCH for the kids?  Well two of the kids since the little one is allergic to dairy…

That was 2 hours spent in the kitchen.

First: Boil macaroni.  I had to cut open, remove the seeds, peel, and chop the pumpkin.  In my little food processor I chopped up garlic and onions, jalapeno and celery, and carrots.

Curried Pumpkin Soup

Curried Pumpkin Soup

Second: I made the cheese sauce, which involved making a roux then adding milk and stirring until thickened.  I added the cheese and then mixed it all up with the pasta and topped it with even MORE cheese and put that in the oven.

Third: I made the soup.  Which is pretty easy once you get all the veggies chopped up, and the processor helps a LOT! Love that little thing! $40 at Tarjay!!!

Dinner was really good tonight.  We even figured out that the Mac and Cheese with the soup on top is really really good!  Yes we are daring people.

I also made vegan chocolate chocolate chip cookies today.  Abby’s class is having an ice cream party tomorrow and I couldn’t get a babysitter for Anton so he is going with me.  So I made the cookies since he can’t have ice cream.  Although I have to tell you dairy free chocolate chips are expensive! Just a warning. 🙂

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

