Food

January 11, 2009 at 10:42 pm | Posted in cooking, Food Network | Comments Off on Food

One thing I do enjoy is cooking. I love watching the Food Network. Last week I was watching this new show “Ultimate Recipe Showdown”. There were several recipes that sounded very good. One of them was “Pumpernickel Pastrami Panini with Rosemary-Ale Jus”.  I found the recipe online and made them for dinner tonight. OMG! Very yummy.  The recipe makes four so my husband is going to come home on his lunch break tomorrow and we will eat the leftovers.

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/pumpernickel-pastrami-panini-with-rosemary-ale-jus-recipe/index.html

I couldn’t find pumpernickel at my local store so I bought seedless rye (not a fan of caraway seeds). The other change I made was I used dried rosemary instead of fresh in the jus. For the dark beer, I used a Dogfish Head stout.  It was really easy to make too, I did it in stages while making dinner for the kids.  Once the kids were fed I assembled the sandwiches and cooked them.  I used butter this time, however I will try to make them healthier next time.

I’ll try to remember to take pictures of them tomorrow! 🙂

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

